diy solar

diy solar

Help with Battery Cable and Class-T Fuse Sizing

Greg55618688

Hello,
Newbie here (not a trained electrician) but trying to learn and do a solar install on my retired ambulance RV. Probably my 1st mistake.
Sorry if this has been answered already. I’ve been reading but haven’t found answers yet.

Most Expected Loads: Watts Amp Approx Amp
Load Hours per Day
12 VDC
LED lights (max 10 lights) 0.5 0.417 2
IPhone/IPad 5
Cell booster 20 0.17 17

120 VAC
Single burner induction burner 1500 12.5 62.5
Micorwave 1500 12.5 41.5
Cpap (x2) 160 1.3 94
Laptops (x2) 3.4 .33 28
Mini Split AC/Heat pump 9000 btu 1000 8.5 400 - 600
Snomaster Dual Zone Fridge 66 0.55 30-40
______ ____ ___
Total 4250 36.37 890

Solar Components I have:
6-210 watt panels
Victron MPPT 150/60 Solar Charger
Victron Multi Plus Inverter 24/3000/70
Victron Lynx
Victron Orion DC-DC Converter
16-CATL 3.2v 271a prismatic cells in 8s2p 24v/560a
Electrodaucus SBMS0

Approximate length of positive cable from batteries to dual shunts (for SBMS0) will be 5.5 feet, with doubled up 1” x 5” x ¼” aluminium flat bar from shunts to disconnect switch, and 1” x 5” x ¼” aluminium flat bar tp Lynx.

Approximate length of negative cable from batteries to Victron BMV-712 shunt will be 5.5 feet. Victron shunt connected to Lynx with doubled up 1” x 3” x ¼” aluminum flat bar.

Approximate length of +/- cables from Lynx to Inverter will be 3.5 feet.

What gauge battery/inverter cable described above is required?
What size Class-T fuse should be used?

Does anyone have any concerns with this setup?

Thanks, Greg

Attachments

• Solar Cabinet.jpg
    Solar Cabinet.jpg
    116.1 KB · Views: 129
I like your clean installation and well thought out posting with requisite information.

I'd try to move the Multiplus to center in your compartment as it will exhaust air out the top on either side; one side of which in the picture is blocked as it's up against the edge of the compartment.