diy solar

diy solar

Help with Cheap Power bank?

Todes320

Hi I am new to all of this and need some help. We race karts and use a generator for our power needs at the track. Since becoming interested in solar for my home I was thinking what about a battery bank for the trailer. I have no clue how to calculate our power needs, we typically run a fan for hours its 120 watts rated. and a heat gun that is 1500 watts to run intermittently for 10 minutes at a time multible times thorughout the day. I was looking for help to set up a cheap batter bank with lead acid to run this equipment for the day at the track off grid and I can just charge the day before with a plug in charger on the grid. Down the road I would like to add a solar panel on the roof of the trailer to keep the batteries always charged.

If its possible would also like the option to maybe run a portable AC unit I think it draws around 1300 watts.

I don't even know where to start, how many batteries? how to tie them all together? what inverter to get? just want a cheap simple system so I can stop breaking my back moving the generator around and no noise at the track.

Thanks! for any help!

Watts * hours = Wh - a unit of energy

1500W heat gun * 10/60hr = 250Wh/use

120W fan * 4 hours = 480Wh use.

Repeat the above for all devices used and their frequency. Add them all up. Convenient spreadsheet energy audit here:

Once you have added up all the Wh, you divide that by 12V and then you have the number of Ah of capacity you need at 12V. To make sure the lead-acid batteries last, you need 2.4X the calculated capacity as you never want to run them down below 50%, or their life will be severely reduced. The extra 0.4X is to account for inefficiencies in converting DC to AC power.

Example: