diy solar

diy solar

Help with off-grid cat colony

cayz

Good Afternoon.

I'm "new" to the whole solar power "thing", although I've been a veteran tinkerer for decades. But, I've come up with a real head scratcher, and before I throw more money at things, I'd like to get the opinion of this group...

This is what I have - A 10x10 shed, with several nooks & crannies (like litter box corner, cat tree corner, and the Cattic. No hookup to power. Literally in the middle of a farmer's field
Needs:
1) Provide a small night-light above litter box corner - when it gets dark, you can't see your hand in front of your face if you are in the shed. The cats need SOME light - 5W?
2) Provide Human Lighting when the volunteers show up to clean, feed & water. In at least 3 locations (Litter box Corner, Cattic, Main Room). Enough to see clearly.
3) Power my Solar Heating Fan (this *should* be a wash, but more on that later).
4) Battery MUST be sealed (AGM) - no out-gassing, least susceptible to fire, etc. The shed is no where near humans, so SAFETY is the biggest concern.

The problem is that #1 needs to run up to 13 hours a day during the depths of winter, and #2 for an hour or two per day.
And, as is typical for the NorthEast USA (I'm in Delaware), there may be 4-5 days of no appreciable sunlight in a row.