diy solar

diy solar

Help with system design

eavaria

Hello. I'm new to this and have been reading for a while, bu can't find the answer I'm looking for. Maybe someone here can point me to the right direction.

I have a crypto mining rig that consumes about 600W. It's constantly on, and the main power source is on 12V (only 5% tolerance). I have a regular PSU for the host and a separate 12V PSU for the cards on the rig. I'm considering the next step and put some solar panels to feed the rig, maximizing the solar energy, so I want to avoid conversions. I would like to run without a battery (or one only for regulation purposes) and be always on grid, but consume all the solar power available first.

I have a fair knowledge of the electronics involved, but can't figure out the configuration I I need.

I need a constant supply of 12v, solar first, 12 PSU after. If it gets interrupted the whole rig needs to be restarted.
I have a few questions I haven't found the answer yet.

Can the MPPT give me exactly 12V or it will give me what the battery have in that moment?
Can a 48V MPPT give me 12V?

So far the configuration I'm tjinking is a 48V system, connected to a dc to dc converter for ~12.5V output to the load, that will be connected in parallel with the 12V PSU to get priority on the consumption. Can you comment on that? Should I use a diode? Is dc-dc efficient enough?

Any idea is greatly apreciated. Thanks a lot.

Can the MPPT give me exactly 12V or it will give me what the battery have in that moment?

This

Can a 48V MPPT give me 12V?

Most 48V MPPT will work on 12 and 24V systems.

So far the configuration I'm tjinking is a 48V system, connected to a dc to dc converter for ~12.5V output to the load, that will be connected in parallel with the 12V PSU to get priority on the consumption. Can you comment on that? Should I use a diode? Is dc-dc efficient enough?

Any idea is greatly apreciated. Thanks a lot.

How is the 12V PSU powered?