Heltec (JK) 200A Smart BMS with 2A Active Balance

upnorthandpersonal

Administrator
Joined
Dec 25, 2019
Messages
2,616
Location
63 degrees North, Finland
The order:

- Connect the balance leads but don't plug in the connector to the BMS
- Make absolutely sure the order of the leads is correct
- Connect the balance leads
- Connect B- to the battery pack negative
- Apply the 5V

So at this point (for a short time) B- is connected to the 48V battery main- AND 5V+ ? And the C- is only connected to 5V- ?
Yes, by putting 5V on B- you actually pull this lead at -5V referenced to the + of the battery, therefor the BMS sees this as a voltage that is 5V higher than the pack voltage.
 

mrzed001

Voice of reason
Joined
Apr 10, 2020
Messages
743
Location
Hungary - EU
The order:

- Connect the balance leads but don't plug in the connector to the BMS
- Make absolutely sure the order of the leads is correct
- Connect the balance leads
- Connect B- to the battery pack negative
- Apply the 5V


Yes, by putting 5V on B- you actually pull this lead at -5V referenced to the + of the battery, therefor the BMS sees this as a voltage that is 5V higher than the pack voltage.

giphy.gif

Thanks for all the help (y)

The magic word is parallel ... so the 5V anything must be parallel connected to the BMS (5V+ to B- and 5V- to P-).

I am just wondering if I could get a line from any 2 cells (in serial they are 6,6V) from the pack with a simple switch to start the BMS anytime ...
 

Choco

Solar Enthusiast
Joined
Feb 14, 2021
Messages
65
Location
Australia
Guys, what is the advantage of the .6A, 1A & 2A models? Is it best to go for 2A, or .6A will suffice? (For 16S, 202AH cells)
 

sato

New Member
Joined
Jan 4, 2021
Messages
9
Good morning guys, can someone help me because the bms app only shows a cell if it is a bank of 16 cells.
Thanks
 

Attachments

  • IMG_1250.PNG
    IMG_1250.PNG
    411.6 KB · Views: 30

ArthurEld

Photon Sorcerer
Joined
Aug 3, 2020
Messages
2,074
Location
Palm Harbor, Florida
Good morning guys, can someone help me because the bms app only shows a cell if it is a bank of 16 cells.
Thanks
I haven't seen that but it probably has something to do with the balance wires. You probably don't have them connected right.
I suggest that you look at the wiring diagram carefully.
Also, check each balance wire from the ring terminal to the pin in the connector.

You could post a picture of your setup or draw one. Maybe someone will see the problem.
 

Solar101

New Member
Joined
Dec 21, 2019
Messages
5
You really need to triple check the balance leads before connecting. You could damage the BMS if these are not connected in the right order.
Appreciate if you can provide the basic steps/sequence in connecting the BMS to the battery & load, as there are 5 sets of connections on the BMS: B-, P-, B0-B14, B15-B+, Temperature sensors (I do not plan to use CAN & GPS/RS485)
 

upnorthandpersonal

Administrator
Joined
Dec 25, 2019
Messages
2,616
Location
63 degrees North, Finland
Screenshot.png
This is the connection diagram for a 16 cell configuration.
Make sure the balance connections are checked before you connect to the BMS (connect them all to the battery first, use a multimeter to verify they are in the right order, only then connect to the BMS).
 

Solar101

New Member
Joined
Dec 21, 2019
Messages
5
View attachment 43374
This is the connection diagram for a 16 cell configuration.
Make sure the balance connections are checked before you connect to the BMS (connect them all to the battery first, use a multimeter to verify they are in the right order, only then connect to the BMS).
Are the following steps in the right order?
- connect P1 & P2 (female) to battery, but not plug into the BMS
- double check all the P1 & P2 balance connections to the battery are OK
- connect P+, P-, C-, B-
- plug P1 into pin headers (B- voltage)
- plug P2 into pin headers (B+ voltage)
Please advise.
 

upnorthandpersonal

Administrator
Joined
Dec 25, 2019
Messages
2,616
Location
63 degrees North, Finland
Are the following steps in the right order?
- connect P1 & P2 (female) to battery, but not plug into the BMS
- double check all the P1 & P2 balance connections to the battery are OK
- connect P+, P-, C-, B-
- plug P1 into pin headers (B- voltage)
- plug P2 into pin headers (B+ voltage)
Please advise.

Yes, that's fine, although you can also plug in P1 and P2 before connecting P+, P-, C-, B-.
Also keep in mind that the BMS won't turn on until you have a voltage 5V over the battery voltage, e.g. from the solar charger or through the 5V battery trick a couple of posts earlier in this thread.
 

Solar101

New Member
Joined
Dec 21, 2019
Messages
5
Yes, that's fine, although you can also plug in P1 and P2 before connecting P+, P-, C-, B-.
Also keep in mind that the BMS won't turn on until you have a voltage 5V over the battery voltage, e.g. from the solar charger or through the 5V battery trick a couple of posts earlier in this thread.
Got it. Thanks a lot for your help.
 

sato

New Member
Joined
Jan 4, 2021
Messages
9
In the end I got it, it was badly wired but now cell 1 shows high voltage but with the multimeter shows 3.30v
 

Attachments

  • 1617294604683.png
    1617294604683.png
    188.4 KB · Views: 27
  • bms.png
    bms.png
    169.2 KB · Views: 27

mmdb

Solar Enthusiast
Joined
Nov 6, 2020
Messages
51
How do you set balancing only on charge on jk heltec ?all i can see in settings is i can turn it off or on ...
 

ArthurEld

Photon Sorcerer
Joined
Aug 3, 2020
Messages
2,074
Location
Palm Harbor, Florida
How do you set balancing only on charge on jk heltec ?all i can see in settings is i can turn it off or on ...
I don't think you can. I'm not sure why you would want to.
I don't cycle my batteries much but, I leave the balancer on all the time.
My charge limits go into the upper knee more than the lower knee so it stays mostly top balanced.
 
Top