diy solar

diy solar

Hi all, I'm just reading up on solar to set up an off grid system for my house.. Dump loads seem needlessly complicated though!

Boomzilla

I'm pretty decent at wiring, electric, and tinkering in general, and I used to be an industrial battery equipment tech so I've got the basics of that end of the system down at least.

I'm planning a system that will keep the essentials of the house running. It will run separate and parallel with the existing wiring and I'll utilize colored receptacles to identify battery power. I don't want to backfeed my panel because I'd like to use the PV energy as much as reasonable even when we have ongrid power.

I know I could install a manual transfer switch and even have one lying around but honestly I just don't like them. The wiring inside those things looks like junk.

I'm still trying to understand how best to run a dump load to a water pre-heater. I can easily hook up a relay controlled by voltage but I don't want it to short cycle or keep the batteries from fully equalizing, but I also want it to be as efficient at using that 'extra' energy as possible. I can't believe I don't have more options for a SCC with diversion load built in!

Anyway, I'll keep reading up on it and I'm sure there's a good solution for me.

"I don't want to backfeed my panel because I'd like to use the PV energy as much as reasonable even when we have ongrid power." Sorry but that statement doesn't really make sense. If you put power to the grid, that is the ideal load to fully use all available potential. At any moment, what you make will be used inside your house with the excess being sent to the grid. So that is not a reason to avoid grid tie/backfeed.

If you get pay a fee or a exchange cost to store on the grid, that is a reason to want to manage all you can locally. Sol-Ark inverters have dump load options.