diy solar

diy solar

High cell voltage disconnect issue

MarkUK

Hi guys, first post so go easy on me :)

OK, just installed 2 new 120ah Sterling (parallel connected) Lithium batteries and charging via a Victron Smart Phoenix 50 amp charger on its dedicated Lithium setting. Its bulk CV is 14.2v but as its talking to my Victron BMV 712 smart via Bluetooth network its seeing around 14.28v on the BMV monitor.

The problem is the batteries BMS trips on high cell voltage (circa 3.7v) when it gets full. This seems a bit harsh on the charger. I'm worried this sudden disconnect may damage my charger?

As I'm new to Lithium use, is this the way the batteries charge, IE I'm used to seeing with FLA the battery charger going to absorb mode then float etc, never just hard tripped like the BMS is doing currently. It just seems a bit harsh. I do know there is no float setting for Lithiums.

Should I lower the CV a bit? I have that option. Do you think it will stop the BMS hidh cell voltage trip?

Thanks a lot guys

14.2V is fine. You can lower it to 14V, but that's more hiding the issue than fixing it.
But still, 14V works about as fine, only a slightly longer charging time, but that's not really an issue since that only applies to the last few %. You will gain some more cycles so it does have some benefits. That's eg also the reason why Victron uses 14.2V, while some other chargers do 14.4 or even 14.6. Victron has some more conservative settings. Some do prefer even lower voltages to gain more lifetime out of the cells.

Normally, with 14.2V, that's 3.55V / cell.

That shouldn't trigger OVP at 3.65V. Hoever, if the cells aren't in balance the voltage between the cells might vary, causing 1 cell to trip the BMS.
You're pushing 50A. At high amps, voltage drift will be a little more on the top end. But with 2 batteries, it's 25A for each 120Ah battery. I won't call that high charge which could explain the drift.