diy solar

diy solar

Home Builder Looking to Offer Solar for our Customers

AbleEnergies

I'm a small home builder at 3 to 5 homes per year. I have a lot of customers that keep asking me to start offering them Solar Systems. I do a lot of Roofing and have a good reputation.

I have distribution, Products, and a very basic understanding but I'm don't want to disappoint any of my Customers buy installing something wrong or charging to much.

We want to offer 4 basic kits. 5, 10, 15, and 20kw systems that are Gride Tie or Off Grid, Roof Top or Ground Mount.

I don't what to offer hundreds and hundreds of products on our website, just 4 Systems mentioned above in the few variations above.

I am looking for mentors, training, and confidence to be a competent installer. I want to offer quality and fair pricing to my Customers. I have had some of these customers since I was a youth and they are more like family.

If this is not the place to find this Please just delete this post, and I apologize in advance. I am definitely not trying to step on any toes of speak out of turn.

I'm fascinated by All forms of Alternative Energy and Hope to build lasting Friendships

Your post raises more questions than answers.
First of all: Where are you? Presumably in the US somewhere?
If you're just looking to become a solar installer there are courses you can take and mebbe some kind of an apprenticeship?
Or are you looking for employees experienced in Solar?
You seem to have lots of potential customers already.
So, basically you're looking to offer 16 off-the-shelf solar designs? (4X2X2) as add-ons to your existing residential construction business?
Have you looked at Will's "DIY Solar blueprints"?
Do you really expect some nice volunteer on here will spec out your 16 designs?

45North,

Thank You for your reply. I do have a lot of previous customers who keep asking me to get involved in solar. They want me because they know I'm not going to shortcut them or gouge them.