diy solar

diy solar

hoping someone could check my schematic (growatt 5k es, auto transformer, load centers)

SilverState

Hello all, first time poster long time lurker. I have some experience with small solar systems but this is my first time building something larger and bigger. It's going to run a ranch style property (all offgrid). I'm trying to wrap my head around the legs/phases wiring that I've seen you YouTube. I'd like to have a 240 panel and a separate 120 panel. My plan was to do them like this and again, hoping someone can point out how it doesn't work and what to fix.

I haven't included ground in any of this because I haven't read far enough into that yet (particularly if the inverter is tying neutral and ground together. I'm also not including the batteries, solar input, or aux ac input as I feel I have a good handle on those.

Some of my questions are, if the whole thing isn't crap to start with:

• Can I treat the 240 sub panel the way that I am, just using single pole breakers, no master breaker? I would have L1 enter on phase 1 bus bar and L2 on the panel's neutral. That would let me (I think) use other single pole breakers on phase 1 bus bar for 240 loads.
  • Am I doing the 120 sub panel the right way? I think this would let me just treat it like a regular 120 panel since the autotransformer will keep neutral at 120. I should be able to put single pole breakers on bus bar 1 and 2, put the load's neutral on the neutral bar, and bob's my uncle, right?
  • Not in the diagram, and maybe this is too busy already, but I'd like to make sure that *only* 110-130 is hanging around on that 120 panel, so I was planning on researching a way to make sure that if the voltage gets off I can trip something early.
Thanks in advance for any help.

firstgrowwattattempt.jpg