diy solar

diy solar

Hot water cylinder with solar PV

Dave123

Hi all,

I need your help! I have little to no working knowledge with solar PV, and am currently relying on my builder who is doing a lot of renovation work in my (fairly old and poorly insulated) house but also planning to put in a 15kW solar PV system with battery storage. This will be south facing in south west UK. This system will not be linked to the national grid, so it will be an offgrid solar PV system with a battery, but with the grid as a back up, I don't have the opportunity for any payments from exporting to the grid.

I'm about to get a new gas boiler put in, with a new hot water cylinder. I have a large 4 bed house.

I'd like to be able to use any excess solar to help heat the hot water cylinder in summer/when there is excess solar, and let that gas heat it the rest of the time.

What is the most cost effective/least likely to break down way of achieving this? I imagine its a case of getting the cylinder just to have an immersion heater in it, but... when I look at devices that claim to help divert energy to the cylinder they all seem to mention detecting what you're exporting to the grid as a trigger for instead exporting it to the cylinder... and since I won't export anything to the grid, I therefore don't know if they'll work.....

Thanks in advance,

Dave

It "won't be linked to the grid" but you'll have the grid as a backup?
If you have a grid connection (which you'll almost certainly need occasionally in winter) then these diverters simply adjust the power that they deliver to an immersion to ensure that no power is exported.
Do you have a grid connection or not?

It "won't be linked to the grid" but you'll have the grid as a backup?
If you have a grid connection (which you'll almost certainly need occasionally in winter) then these diverters simply adjust the power that they deliver to an immersion to ensure that no power is exported.
Do you have a grid connection or not?
Hi Simon,