diy solar

diy solar

How can I safely make sure charge controller won't over-charge battery?

ericbakuladavis

Hi Folks

I'm a solar newbie and recently setup my 1st system. I have been monitoring my battery's state of charge (using resting voltage at first, and later, a battery monitor). I manually shut off the solar panels when my battery gets close to full because I am not confident that the charge controller won't over-charge the battery.

How can I make sure the charge controller will prevent over-charging?

Here is some info about my system:

Design Drawing
Link to Drawing

Two 200W Panels Wired in Series
Link to Manual
Maximum power (Pmax): 200W
Voltage at Pmax (Vmp): 17.0V
Current at Pmax (Imp): 11.76A
Open-circuit voltage (Voc): 20.23V
Short-circuit current (Isc): 12.45A

MakeSkyBlue 60A Charge Controller v118
Link to Manual
Charging Voltage accuracy: ± 0.2V
Overcharge protection voltage - 12V Bat: 15V
Limited current protection: 61A
Max PV Module for 12V Bat: 720W
PV Module Open Circuit Voltage for 12V Bat: DC20V ~ DC80V
Voc of PV should be 1.5 to 2 times greater than battery voltage for best efficiency
Controller Charging Voltage for 12V battery: 12V - 17V

My settings (see manual for explanation):
D00 24H
D01 14.5
D02 14.5
D03 10
D04 01
D05 NO
D06 13.2

Ampere Time LiFePO4 12V200Ah Battery
Link to Manual (see Charging Tips)
Nominal Capacity: 200Ah
Nominal Voltage: 12.8V
Energy: 2560Wh
Charge Voltage: 14.4±0.2V
Max. Continuous Load Power: 2560W
Max. Continuous Charge/Discharge Current: 200A
Max. Discharge Current 5 Seconds: 400A

GoWISE Power 2000W Pure Sine Wave Power Inverter
Link to Manual
Continuous output: 2000W

Surge power: 4000W

Input voltage range: 10-16VDC

Input under voltage activation: 10.6VDC

Input under voltage protection: 10VDC

Input voltage: 12V

Output voltage: 120V AC ±10%

Output frequency: 60Hz ±1Hz
Output waveform: Pure sine wave (THD≤ 3%)
Conversion efficiency: 90%
Overload protection: Yes

Last edited: