diy solar

diy solar

How important is grounding?

robknotts

Can I use just one 8' ground rod for the entire array?

Should all of the 36 panels be grounded to each other?

Do I need a separate ground rod for the breaker panel?

My understanding is if you put in a second grounding rod it's has to be almost right next to the first one. If it's not close enough to the first one then a lightning strike could send power through one of the grounding rods through the house to the other grounding rod which would be potentially dangerous and destructive. So more than likely you should use only one. And yes all the panels should be grounded together.
I'm no expert and there are many people on here that have a lot of expertise on the matter, but when I installed my panels that was the information I found. I almost made the mistake of adding a second grounding rod on the opposite side of my house which would have been a big no no.

What @sparrowhawk said, when designing your system assume tens of thousands of volts might pass through your grounding system. Minimise the damage between lightning hit point and the earth by reducing the parts between the two. If you have two earth rods it will probably pass from hit point to both rods passing through everything in between potentially damaging it. I'd place one rod in the middle of the array that way even if lightning hits at the far end of the array it will only pass through half the array to get to ground.

How important is grounding... how important is your life? ;)

You need to bond all the panels together and connect it to your existing ground rod (generally same size as your PV circuits). If you add a ground rod at the panels, you need a bigger ground wire back to the existing, often a #4AWG or larger.