diy solar

diy solar

How Many Panels can I put on this AIO Mppt ?

Ohms_Cousin

I am new to mppt's - never used one before so coming to terms with how they work.

The inverter I am looking at gives these spec's;

16kW EU version Mppt specs.PNG

The panels I am interested give these spec's;

Capture.PNG

and the **COLDEST** temps at my location (I am in a hot location but it gets a bit chilly at night - 62F/16C - in June / July we have to break out the jumpers and blankets)

Temps for solar panel calcs.PNG

So it reads to me as 3 Mppt trackers with each tracker having 2 strings and each string is 22A with 450V max voltage and the Mppt range being 250V to 450V.

Seems that I could put 9 of the Risen 700w panels in one string on each of the Mppt's (9 x 47.17 VOC = 424.53v) with a Vmpp of 39.64v to give 356.76v.

Impp is 17.68A - so fits into the 22A limit.

So it seems 9 of these panels are within the working range of this Mppt setup as the temperature rarely gets cooler then about 16C or 62F - so panel voltage wont spike because of cold temps.

What i am not sure about is if that is 22A per String for each of the 3 trackers ?

This is my first time to try to figure out matching panels to an Mppt so any guidance gratefully accepted.

Last edited:
I would limit it to 8S. 9S is too close even for your mild climate.

The specs are confusing.

To me it sounds like:

3 MPPT
2 parallel strings per MPPT
Each parallel string can have Isc of 26A (26A + 26A).

If I'm correct:

Thus, you can have 8S2P of those panels on each MPPT for a total of 48 panels producing 33,600W, which blows away the Max DC input power.

That seems absurd, so I'd just go 8S on each MPPT for 16,800W total.

You would be under all limits at that point.

I would limit it to 8S. 9S is too close even for your mild climate.

The specs are confusing.

To me it sounds like:

3 MPPT
2 parallel strings per MPPT
Each parallel string can have Isc of 26A (26A + 26A).

If I'm correct: