diy solar

diy solar

How many solar panels do I need to load 16 eve Lifepo4 batteries (48v system)?

Messier11

Hi everyone,

I am a true newbie and I am trying to figure out how many panels I should plan to get for a system based on 16 pcs lifepo4 of 3.2v and 280ah each Alibaba style.

What is the recommended load current for these batteries?

I of course understand that the number of panels I need depends on what type of panels I get. But how should I calculate on it? Let’s say I get 150w 12v panels? I am sure the information is right infront of me, but I can’t figure out how to do the math. Other batteries I have looked at have stated for example that the recommended load current is 37A, which I gather means that I should for example have three 150w panels to get optimal charging (3 x 150w/12v = app. 37a). But I can’t find that number for these batteries.

I am looking at batteries like these (perhaps through Amy):

Your Solar array size is more dependent on energy usage than on battery size. If you only use 100Wh a day, then a small 100W panel would be more than enough. If you use 2000Wh per day, the array size will need to be much larger.

My advice to all beginners is to do an energy survey/audit before you do anything else. This will clarify the picture of what the energy usage is and help you size the system. This is the tool I use for an energy audit:

I need 40kwh to go with my 13kw PV array to be able to use 100% of the PV power the panels generate. What I mean by this is that the battery has to be big enough on prime days (spring/early-summer) to take in all the PV but spread out consumption thru the night till the next day.

There are many factors but your battery (280ah @ 52v) is aprox 14.5kwh and a simple extrapolation would be 14.5kwh/40kwh = 36% of my battery capacity. Applying 36% to 13000kw PV = 4650w PV array. 4650w / 52v = 89a.