diy solar

diy solar

How much space should I allot for solar components?

porkchopexpress

I'm designing a mini-cabin/accessory sleeping quarters to complement my lake house. It's going to be 12' x 10' with a small loft and I want it to be powered by solar. Main lake house is currently on the grid but I thought it would be cool to have this entirely separate.

I'm a novice and am reading through various tutorials, studying Youtube videos of DIY solar installations and all that. I have a ways to go in getting familiar with the technology and designing a solar power system. However, I was hoping to get some sort of idea on how much space I might need to allot within the mini-cabin for the components... like, if they're going to be behind some sort of panel, recessed into the floor, etc. Including whatever batteries might be needed. In fact, I'm guessing battery space might be the most significant factor? Can anyone give general pointers on this?

Components being powered would include a ceiling fan, charging a laptop and smartphones, some LED lighting and maybe a 32" or so energy-efficient TV/DVD player. Calculator I found online gave me 2176 watt-hours per day, so my guess is I'd round this up to about a 2400 watt system?

Assuming: all of your appliances are 120V AC. I have a 24V, 200Ah LiFePo4 battery size about 21"x 9.5"x8.6", weigh about 96lbs. An Inverter 3000/6000W pure sine wave dimension about 22"x9.5"x4" about 10lbs. These are the major components. Other such as charge controller MPPT is small 7.3"x5"x2.5", weigh about 3lbs, disconnect fuse, wires, terminal block (if necessary). Solar panels can be mounted on the roof or on the ground. You need to double up your calculation of usage/day to count for the rainy and heavy cloud day. I think 24V and 200Ah LifePo4 battery will give you an additional day.