diy solar

diy solar

How not to set on fire old EBL and LiFePo4 battery ?

fiox89

Hi all. I'm quite new in this field, and I am looking to understand how to correctly mount a 100ah lithium battery (integrated BMS), on an old EBL 263-3 control unit on my VAN (120A alternator)

I have identified, hypothetically, the B2B Votronic 12-12 30A. However, the proposed schemes are not very clear to me. I have a battery cut-off relay inside the control unit EBL 263-3, which is the best connection configuration?

I am trying to seek help from companies around my area, but lithium batteries are still not widespread here, and it is really difficult to find people willing to help me. Any help will be appreciated !

Attachments

• Manual - 911054_20011212_EBL263-3A_BA_EN.pdf
    874.2 KB · Views: 18
  • Votronic B2B 1212-30.pdf
    2.7 MB · Views: 13
Both devices appear to charge at 14.4V and float at 13.8V. Those parameters are compatible with the charge parameters published by Battleborn.

Personally, I prefer 13.6V float as that keeps the battery at slightly under 100%. if you're plugged into shore power all the time, I would be hesitant, but if the system will cycle regularly, should be fine.

Both devices appear to charge at 14.4V and float at 13.8V. Those parameters are compatible with the charge parameters published by Battleborn.

Personally, I prefer 13.6V float as that keeps the battery at slightly under 100%. if you're plugged into shore power all the time, I would be hesitant, but if the system will cycle regularly, should be fine.
Thanks for your input. My biggest concern is how to connect the B2B to the lithium battery, and therefore to the EBL.
Votronic provides schematics, could the one on page 4 be right for me? Attaching here a simplified version of the scheme, on how I intended it for my case.

Attachments

• Immagine.png
    Immagine.png
    292.5 KB · Views: 16
Last edited: