diy solar

diy solar

How to best replace a 60V battery with LiFePo4 ?

GoetzSaCebu

If its off-topic here pls move to the correct forum, thanks.
As I live in the philippines I plan on buying a simple EV for the city. Regular EV are too expensive and usually com with LiIo batteries that are a waste of money.
Importing a small EV with LiFePo4 from china is no option because of 30% import tax to pay. And then its nt made for american sized people.

That way I plan on buying a EV like these DECC | The Ride Of The Future (evdecc.com) (3-wheeler with 3KW motor and 60V/90Ah LiIo battery is about 7k$) or SUPREMO EBIKES (company.site) (4-wheeler with 1500W motor and 60V/45Ah LeadAcid batteries is about 2600$)
VIHARI-1.jpg 2567374266.jpg

Max speed is enough for the city, they are open so I don't need aircon. Big enough for regular roads and can carry up to 4 people.
Only problem is, they use 60V batteries and I am not a electrician enough to just do a battery from single cells myself.

I asked Ampere Time if I could series 5 of ther 12V/200Ah batteries but their answer was:
"The MOS components of the BMS have a voltage withstand value of 80V. 12.8V*4 (in series) = 51.2V, and charging voltage of 51.2V battery is 56.8V-58.4V, but also a little bit of reserve, we set the limitation of 4 batteries ( in series) in case it's too close to the upper limit. The MOS will burn out if the 80V withstand voltage value is exceeded. Our 12V 200Ah battery supports up to 4 identical batteries for up to: 48V 200Ah battery system (in series)"

Using a 48V battery wont be good as I wont reach the maximum speed and grip.
That way I am now thinking why no one before has noticed that there is a market for these simple EV especially in simple countries like Asia and Africa.
And therefore why are no decent 60V LiFePo4 batteries available?