diy solar

diy solar

How to cheaply add 12 V (10 A) DC charging to mobile solar package?

naigm

I'm a noob building this simple setup for the purpose of powering a 12 V fridge in my truck. This build will replace a Jackery system. I have two questions:

1) What do I need to add to the build to be able to charge this battery from the 12 V (10 A) outlet in my truck? It seems like a 12 V trickle charger may work(?) or a DC-DC charger (more expensive). I'd like to keep this build as inexpensive as possible.

2) Is it possible to have this battery setup connected to the 12 V (10 A) outlet in my truck and the 12 V fridge such that when I am driving, the 12 V (10 A) outlet is charging the battery while the battery powers the fridge (thus the battery is ideally not losing its charge), but when I turn the truck off and the 12 V (10 A) outlet no longer supplies power, the fridge is powered solely by the battery?

More details:
I'd like this battery to be chargeable via solar, AC, and 12 V DC. The build guide I linked covers the solar and AC charging, and it explains how to incorporate a DC-DC charger to charge the battery from the alternator. However, it doesn't explain the easiest way to charge the battery from a 12 V (10 A) cigarette plug.

I hate myself already for recommending a Renogy product but this sounds like one of the few good uses for this product:

It should accept solar (minimal which is what you were talking about) and alternator current easily and do what you are asking.

Do you know how much power your refrigerator actually uses?

An owner of the fridge posted on Amazon that the idle draw is 0.13 A; startup is 11 A for first 5 minutes; running current is 4.77A.