diy solar

diy solar

How to get 200 watts input on Bluetti EB3a?

steveoliverc

Solar newbie here with probably a very basic question.

I just got the new Bluetti EB3A power station which has a DC input max of 200 watts and VOC 12-28VDC / 8.5A.

I have 2 of HQST 100 watt panels with VOC of 21.6V and IMP of 5.56 A.

It seems that if I connect the 2 panels in parallel, then the amps will be too high for the power station. (Maybe that's OK?)

But if I connect them in series, the voltage will be too high. (Definitely not OK?)

I haven't received the PV input cable that was included in my purchase but have a pair of branch cables if I want to set up as parallel.

Is it possible for me to get the full 200 watts input with this setup? Or, can I get close if I set up the 2 panels in parallel, with 21.6V times 8.5A (EB3A's limit) giving me a possibility of 184W input?

This is all pretty new to me so I'd appreciate any guidance and info. Don't want to let all of this Vegas sun go to waste! Thanks.

Solar newbie here with probably a very basic question.

I just got the new Bluetti EB3A power station which has a DC input max of 200 watts and VOC 12-28VDC / 8.5A.

I have 2 of HQST 100 watt panels with VOC of 21.6V and IMP of 5.56 A.

It seems that if I connect the 2 panels in parallel, then the amps will be too high for the power station. (Maybe that's OK?)

Yep and yep. It will only pull the 8.5A if it's available. It will ignore anything over.

But if I connect them in series, the voltage will be too high. (Definitely not OK?)

Correct.

I haven't received the PV input cable that was included in my purchase but have a pair of branch cables if I want to set up as parallel.

Is it possible for me to get the full 200 watts input with this setup?

No. 18Vmp * 8.5A = 153W

Or, can I get close if I set up the 2 panels in parallel, with 21.6V times 8.5A (EB3A's limit) giving me a possibility of 184W input?