diy solar

diy solar

how to store a lithium battery for intermediate time periods.

dano147

Hello,

I am new to batteries and storing them. I have recently purchased a Bluetti EB150 for emergencies and camping in Oregon. We get some cold weather in the winter and some hot weather in the summer (20°f approx. outside temp) winter low (100°f approx outside temp) summer high. We also get a good amount of rain/snow and humidity. My house is not immune to having increased humidity inside when we reach the dew point outside (max about 70%-80% interior humidity). It will be store for up to 6 months at a time indoors without use during the off season of camping. I am wondering if there are any special precautions or actions I should take to help the battery last as long as it possibly can. What should I be looking out for in my storage space. are Are there any special materials I should store it in? Should I be storing it fully charged or partially charged? How often should I discharge the battery (if at all) for optimal cycle life?

Thanks in advance for the advice! (I know I have a lot of questions)

Last edited:
Cell general chemistry and composition of that particular manufacturer make a difference. I would consult the manuals or inquire directly of Bluetti first.

Generally speaking, storing at a 50% SoC is regarded as optimal for all situations, particularly in warmer/hot weather. It matters much less in cold weather as the reactions that cause loss are subdued.

If you are talking about Lifepo form of lithium then a charge of 50 to 60% is best.
Lifepo hate being floated at high SOC and can even be damaged if left at 100% SOC for long periods of time.
Lifepo love being cycled however. :)
I hope this helps. :)

Cell general chemistry and composition of that particular manufacturer make a difference. I would consult the manuals or inquire directly of Bluetti first.