diy solar

diy solar

How to use threaded rod & plywood to create a clamping battery box for prismatic cells?

happy

So i've seen lots of pictures and recommendations of people using threaded rod & plywood to clamp their cells. I'm making a 4s battery with the 280ah eve cells now and am having trouble figuring out how actually build the dang thing with threaded rod (which i've never used before)

I have everything cut & setup with 2 wood endplates + 4 threaded rods + 8 nylock nuts. The problem I am having is that for the life of me I can't figure out how to tighten both ends of the threaded rod? I cant choose which end is the "locking" side and because when trying to turn the nut it instead turns the rod. Can anyone help a complete beginner out with this? I now have one of my nylock nuts screwed way too far onto the rod and can't figure out how to back it out haha

Put two nuts on one end and tighten together to lock them. Then the other end is the end you tighten up. To lock the two nuts together, screw them on to where you want them, then take two spanner’s and tighten together. Tighten one and slacken the other. That brings them together and locks them in place

Put two nuts on one end and tighten together to lock them. Then the other end is the end you tighten up. To lock the two nuts together, screw them on to where you want them, then take two spanner’s and tighten together. Tighten one and slacken the other. That brings them together and locks them in place
Maybe I'm misunderstanding, but I believe I've tried that and still have the issue where the rod spins instead of the nuts? I tighten the single nut while fixing the opposite end's nut in place with another wrench. But instead of the single nut spinning down the rod & clamping down, it instead spins the entire rod so that the not i'm trying to keep in place is the one that ends up getting screwed in.

Sorry if that doesn't make sense