diy solar

diy solar

How to wire together 36 250 watt solar panels -- no shade issues.

mawhelchel99

• Rated Power: 250W
  • Open circuit voltage (VOC): 37.6 V
  • Max power voltage (VMP): 30.3 V
  • Short circuit current (ISC): 8.85 A
  • Max power current: 8.27 A
  • Power Tolerance 0/+3%
  • Maximum system voltage: 600V (UL)
  • Fuse Rating: 15 A
Here are the specs on each panel ... ideas how to wire this to save money on other equipment?

The short answer is to select a charge Controller or Inverter/Charger product with high maximum input, 500V to 600V, so as to maximize the number of panels that can be put in Series rather than Parallel. This saves on wiring and breakers in the combiner box. Based on the Voc stated above, I would say you will need a minimum of 3 strings of 12 panels. It depends on the actual Voc at the lowest temperature expected for your area and the Max allowable input to your charger device.

I am new to this ... can you tell me the amps and volts of each panel? I agree with you however putting it in series seems the best choice. Thanks

• Rated Power: 250W This is the Factory/Standard Test Conditions (STC) output of the panel at 25 deg. C with 1,000Watt per sq. meter of simulated solar radiation.
In reality your normal output will usually be 70 to 85% of the rated value depending on panel azimuth, tilt and geographic location.
  • The Temp/Voltage coefficient for solar panels is approx . -0.3% per deg. C. Translation for every degree C below 25 the voltage will INCREASE by about 0.113V. At 0 C the Voc goes up to 40.4V. 37.6V + (25deg x 0.113V/deg) What is the coldest temp. expected in your area?
  • Open circuit voltage (VOC): 37.6 V. Need to calculate Voc for your coldest expected temp.
  • Max power voltage (VMP): 30.3 V Use this value as your operating voltage
  • Short circuit current (ISC): 8.85 A
  • Max power current: 8.27 A Use this value as your operating current
  • Power Tolerance 0/+3%
  • Maximum system voltage: 600V (UL)