diy solar

diy solar

HP Blade Server Power supply to charge 48v

offgriddave

Solar Enthusiast
Hi I am interested in upgrading my generator power supply to charge my 48v lion battery packs

After some suggestions here, I found this HP 3000w 48v power supply:

HP ESP120 51.4V 57A MAX

$99-120 on ebay

Given this goes to 51.4V I might be ok

Has anyone delt with this power supply before? Is there a better solution or bang for the buck?

Attachments

• s-l1600.jpg
    s-l1600.jpg
    200.6 KB · Views: 6
I've never tried it before, but wouldn't a lithium battery just saturate the power supply the same way shorting it would?

There has to be some kind of current limiting involved.

That's a good question. I have 10 batteries to hook up to. Each "15A" 48v nominal. 750w. If I charge one at 3000w that's 4C! Obviously don't do that. If I put 10 together, 7500w at 3000w charge rate, that's .4C. Is that better?

Other than that I can only figure out some kind of regulated power module

this one, but it only goes to 50V at 15A:

or this one, but it only goes to 5A:

If I gang them up would it work? But that pushes my budget $$$ into a real charger. I'm trying to save money.

Might work, depends on what the PSU does. Some go into shutdown (They think it's a short or overload) -> Not suitable for charging

Others do have current limiting and can be used as a charger. It only lacks any charging profile so you have to manually shutdown them once the batteries are ful.
But most heavy-duty powersupplies have a remote on/off. Some shunts/meters like the Victron BMV do have a relay contact, so you can use that to enable charging when < certain SOC, and stop once a predefined SOC is reached

Other interesting options (price and availability is different depending on the country) is eg the Eltek Flatpack2 units, or some DC rectifiers from old routers
I have for example a 3U serverrack unit, which contains 3 2800W rectifiers, can output up to 60V (adjustable) at 150A total