diy solar

diy solar

I would like to build a portable solar generator

murdsman

I have a trailer on some land that is currently completely off grid. The wiring system in the trailer is in good working order. My thoughts are to make a solar generator system that is external to the trailer and just plug it into the trailer just like I would if I had access to the grid. We are not living there full time and most stays are 4 - 5 days at a time. The AC power would mainly be for the refrigerator and keeping the DC system charged. I would like to be able to run some small power tools when needed. I would also like the ability to hook up a gas generator for emergencies to charge the solar system. I have a pretty good idea of the basic sizing of things for this system but I'm looking for some advise. I am new to all of this and am looking forward to the process.
To start Is this even a reasonable idea?

Welcome to the forums!

Will has numerous videos on this and a lot of people have successfully built things and show/discuss them on the show & tell forums. I built mine out of a lot of those annoying little cells (which I don't recommend), but it's talked about here.

Last edited:
I suspect there are a few thousand, certainly hundreds, of homebrew "Solar Generators" that have been designed by subscribers to this forum. My flavor starts with a Minn-Kota trolling motor battery box, gets transmogified, up to and including 100A circuit breakers, fuse holders, custom made cabling with Absolutely Perfect crimps on 2AWG pure copper cables.