diy solar

diy solar

In over my head?

Nicauna

After watching Will's videos and buying his book I've purchased for our completely off the grid tiny home:

Renogy 5Pcs 270 Watt 24 Volt Solar Panel 1350W for Off-Grid​

3000W Solar Inverter Growatt 24V Power Inverter Support Split Phase 80A MPPT 120V​

And

4 Battle Born 100ah batteries

NOW what!?

I splurged on the pv cable but went cheap with the splitters (will that completely negate the splurge?). I figure, the batteries will be 2 in series and 2 in parallel to create the needed 24v for panels and inverter. But how should I configure 5 panels? In retrospect, probably should've done six but those things weren't cheap!

Am I missing anything else that's crucial? I am a complete newbie so open to ALL suggestions.

Ever so gratefully,
Nicholas and Shauna

I figure, the batteries will be 2 in series and 2 in parallel to create the needed 24v for panels and inverter. But how should I configure 5 panels?
What is the Voc of the panels and the max input voltage of your SCC? This will dictate how you can configure your array.
In general, you want panels in series as much as possible to about 90% of your max input voltage. Anytime you get to having to parallel, even numbers are necessary.

This video will help you with the math behind hooking up your panels and the differences between series and parallel connections.

There are also some good resources in the 'Resources' section on this website regarding wiring and fusing.

What is the Voc of the panels and the max input voltage of your SCC? This will dictate how you can configure your array.
In general, you want panels in series as much as possible to about 90% of your max input voltage. Anytime you get to having to parallel, even numbers are necessary.
Am I reading it right? Voc = 38.6? Max input = 2000w?? Why is "rated power" 3000w then?Screenshot_20201025-144738_Amazon Shopping.jpgScreenshot_20201025-144717_Amazon Shopping.jpg