diy solar

diy solar

Incorporating an off-grid battery and inverter camping system into home?

Dawie

Hi Everyone,

I'm a complete novice in this area and new to this forum, which I came across when searching for some info on-line.

In short, our home has a grid connected 10.73 KW solar system with Fronius Primo 8.2-1 Inverter and Fronius Smart meter. My understanding is that this is a “battery ready” system however we have not yet added a battery. I'll try and add a pic of the web interface for our system, which indicates it does cater for a battery?

1685411703926.png

At this stage surplus energy is fed back into the grid however the Feed In tariff is very low and, as I do have a camping set-up configured for induction cooking, I was wondering whether this could somehow be incorporated to utilize the batteries? It basically consists of 2 x 200Ah LifePo4 batteries in parallel with own internal BMS and a 3000W Pure Sine Wave Inverter. I was therefore wondering whether these batteries can be connected to the current Fronius Primo 8.2-1 inverter to power certain circuits in the home when there’s no solar power (e.g. at night) and, if not, whether the 3000W inverter can somehow be used for this?

If indeed possible, could one then just add additional batteries (of same spec) to increase capacity as required?

Would appreciate input and thoughts from those in the know...

Battery Spes:
Chemistry: LiFePO4 (Lithium Iron Phosphate)
Watt hours: 2560WH
Voltage: 12.8V
Charge voltage: 14.6V
Discharge cut-off voltage: 10V
Max recharge current: 150A
Max continuous discharge: 150A
Max pulse discharge (10 seconds): 300A
Operating temperature charging: 0°C TO +60°C
Operating temperature discharging :-20°C TO +60°C

Inverter specs are:
Wattage: 3000W
Output Waveform: Pure Sine Wave
Input Voltage: 12VDC
Input Current: 284A
Output Voltage: 240VAC
AC Frequency: 50/60HZ
Efficiency: >85%
Power Usage On Standby Mode: <2A