Install a Growatt AIO and Lithium battery on covered patio?

SoFar

New Member
Joined
Sep 8, 2021
Messages
17
I was wondering if anyone has installed an All-In-One Inverter on the outside of their house? I also plan to have a 100lb EV4 battery.

I have no basement and no room in the garage. If I would install it in my office, I think the fans would drive me crazy. I don't plan tying in the inverter to any existing wiring in the house.
 

ncsolarelectric

Engineering Support CEO
Joined
May 24, 2022
Messages
441
Location
Statesville NC
Check the environmental specs on the inverter and don't exceed them if you value the warranty. These inverters don't like 100% humidity, or wet environments, or freezing temperatures. Neither do batteries. I would consider building a temperature-controlled room for them or buying a temperature-controlled cabinet $$$.
 

OnGrid

New Member
Joined
Sep 11, 2021
Messages
29
I live in South Florida and I've seen people who have their batteries and inverters on their patios.

Also, I've seen people put their equipment in small sheds that with no A/C.
 
Last edited:

12VoltInstalls

…myself everything do I…
Joined
Jan 18, 2021
Messages
4,237
Location
Vermont
What is the climate where you live?
That’s my first thought

If temperate and covered, can’t get wet, I’d do it. At 32*F or below you shouldn’t charge LiFePo as they will die btw
don't plan tying in the inverter to any existing wiring in the house
That seems unusual. Is this a backup only system for extension cord use?
 

Don B. Cilly

Energetic energy padawan
Joined
Aug 24, 2021
Messages
1,117
Location
Mallorca ES
Yes, the second AIO is a backup.
I got it cheap (on Aliexpress - shipped from Germany). Figured I might as well have it so if the other one blew I wouldn't have to get one in a hurry (and pay more :·)
-
 

12VoltInstalls

…myself everything do I…
Joined
Jan 18, 2021
Messages
4,237
Location
Vermont
Figured I might as well have it so if the other one blew I wouldn't have to get one in a hurry (and pay more :·)
I thought I was the only weirdo that thought like that :)

I don’t have really any extra panels but I’ve got extra inverters and charge controllers and wire and fuses and fittings and cables 🤷‍♂️
 

Don B. Cilly

Energetic energy padawan
Joined
Aug 24, 2021
Messages
1,117
Location
Mallorca ES
I have one extra panel, but only because I couldn't be bothered to put it up yet (the ones I have up charge plenty ;·)

r2.jpg
-
 

SoFar

New Member
Joined
Sep 8, 2021
Messages
17
I live in West Palm Beach Florida, never gets cold. Does get humid.

I only plan to run computer equipment / security cameras and other things in my office. Also plan to have as a backup in case of major power outage. I thought about putting it in my office, but I heard the Growatt's can be very loud.
 
Top