diy solar

diy solar

Inverter for Valance Batteries

Julaney

I am looking at purchasing two used Valence U-Charge RT Series U1-12RT LifePo4 12V 40Ah 512wh batteries (connected in parallel to get 12V 80ah). I currently own a Zamp Solar USP1003 180-Watt Folding Portable Solar System that includes a 5 stage 15 amp digital controller. Can someone recommend the proper inverter for this system? I plan to charge a Macbook Pro so I read a pure sine wave inverter is recommended. I am considering the Giandel Pure Sine Wave 1200 W inverter but don't know if the additional wattage would have negative impact. Please pass on any other issues you may see with this configuration. I am new at this and on tight budget. While I am open to less expensive batteries, this system will be inside a tent so I have to consider the health concerns with other options.

While I am open to less expensive batteries, this system will be inside a tent so I have to consider the health concerns with other options.
So that we can help you better, please expand on the health concerns?

Inverters are sized based on the load.
See my signature for a helpful link to help you complete your energy audit.
If you only load is the Macbook Pro then the Giandel inverter is overkill.
This should suffice https://www.donrowe.com/Samlex-PST-300-12-p/pst-300-12.htm

Yes outgassing is the concern. I will be using the system for more than just the Macbook. Just wanted to include why a pure not modified sine wave inverter.

I plan to charge a Macbook Pro so I read a pure sine wave inverter is recommended.
Can you run all 12v items for your tent and just use a car charger adapter to power your Macbook? That would be the least expensive solution I can think of.

The max output of two Valence RT batteries in parallel is 60 amps. I would size the inverter based on that,