diy solar

diy solar

Inverter that blends grid power

rhinehart22

Hello all, I am new to solar and am looking to build my first system. My project will consist of two stages: powering a large RV and then powering a mid-large house. I am hoping to find something expandable that will work for both.

I've been looking a lot into Growatt 5000 es and MPP lv6548/6048 as they can be wired in parallel. One of my biggest questions is if these inverters can blend grid power with PV/batteries to power large loads that exceed the maximum output of the inverter, meaning that if the inverter is outputting at 100% but the load is 250% of the inverter the grid will power the remaining 150%. Do either of these units do that? Are there any all in one inverter that operate this way? Recommendations would be extremely helpful as I have been searching for over a week and have not been able to find any answers.

I'm not sure if any other inverters will, but I own 2x LV6548s and they do not do what you are asking. You cannot exceed the output of the inverter in any way.

But, I have 13kw of available power, and thats pretty hard to exceed, I've only done it once and its because I exceeded just one inberter due to an imbalance in loads, so if I balance my loads more, it will handle it with ease.

There are people who buy 12kw Growatts for theyre whole house (Ian from Watts247 has one for his house) and he says its damn near impossible to overload that thing lol

One thing that has brought up this concern is my recent learning that electric tankless water heaters require an insane amount of power, 27kW for some I have found. When there are large loads like that I would love to still use renewable energy as much as possible. I have heard that Outback and DEYE has inverters that can operate this way but the literature is a little confusing.