diy solar

diy solar

Inverters for split-phase 35kw peak system

jmb1884

Hello - I am an electrical engineer but new to solar inverters so I would love some feedback - I've found the datasheets a bit lacking for many of the brands.

I am located in Panama which is a US style split-phase power grid. I am grid-tied with a 40kw generator with ATS. I am designing a solar system with storage and want to support peak current draw of 40kw. (average 17kw).

I require the inverters to work while both the grid and the generator are offline, but I do not need to achieve peak current draw when the grid is offline. I will not be putting power back onto the grid.

I considered 8 of the Felicity Solar IVEM5048 (5kw, datasheet attached). It has UPS functionality. But as with most hybrid inverters I have seen, it has a single AC input. Can I do split-phase by putting 4 inverters on each phase? Do I need inverters specifically designed for split-phase applications?

Any insight is appreciated, as well as recommendations for inverters that would work better for me.

I'm planning 48 450watt panels, and 75kwh of storage.

Attachments

• IVEM solar inverter user guide.pdf
    15.5 MB · Views: 18
Take a look at Schneider Conext Pro, Outback and SMA. I'm using a Schneider Conext XW+ 6848 (Conext Pro is the current model) Most of the premium products have 2 AC inputs, one for grid and one for a generator. They are also UL1741SA compliant and have a built in internal transfer switch. Lastly, based on your relatively high peak wattage demand, I would recommend choosing a low frequency type inverter.

Check out https://www.sandielectric.com/ and this guys channel too

I would like to emphasize that this isn’t mainstream equipment for the DIY type. I don’t have personal experience with it, but it’s most likely what I would use for my own large installation on a budget. However, you can’t go wrong with the known high quality and supported stuff that BentleyJ cited.

Last edited: