diy solar

diy solar

IoT (cell) uplink for GroWatt SPF 5000ES

methods

I have a Growatt SPF 5000 ES landing Monday... so we are just getting started here. I have a lot of experience with low-cost IoT and ... before I go off and reinvent the wheel I want to make sure nobody has already done it.

Inverter Manual

High Level Task
Link the Growatt to the cloud servers for the lowest price possible, without WiFi! When I ran an IoT company for a short period of time... this basically meant

* Intercept the signal with the correct protocol (maybe hardware, maybe WiFi, maybe BLE... we will emulate the phone interface if required)
* Push as little data up to the cloud as possible (you pay by the KB)

To show that I am not a spammer or wanker, here is my list of commonly used parts:

IoT Sim Cards ($1/mo - I bought 10, they do what they say they do)

Arduino WiFi intercept modules (buy off Digikey, not Adafruit)

Arduino 3G (cell) intercept modules (buy off Digikey, not Adafruit)

Adrduino, most powerful available (buy off Digikey directly)

When I am programming for an Android Phone, I use MIT App Inventor 2
That is a purely graphical programming language (like LabView) and it exposes EVERY function available on the Android devices. They are working on an Apple core (or they were) but apples sucks for DIY.

For micro processing I use strictly Arduino - but 32bit 600mhz versions that are basically small computers ported for Android

... Anyhow
This is my first post.
(and it needs some pictures!)

* I ordered 10pcs of used 460W panels, those are paid for and ready to be picked up
* I ordered a 5KW off grid setup to experiment with
* I have in my possession 42KW of 1C LiFe in really good shape, broken up into 4S 40Ah chunks... heading toward 48V

Obviously...
The Scientific Method requires that we accurately record data so that others can duplicate our experiments. That is why I am here... to share and learn.... SO -> If anyone has done it, save me the time.