diy solar

diy solar

Is 40 amp Charge Controller okay for 500 watts solar?

Confetti

Newbie here... I want to follow Will’s 400 watt DIY video pretty much exactly.
But I want to get two 250 watt panels on my camper van. Do I need to get a 50 amp or bigger charge controller? Or can I stick with the 40 amp that he shows in the video?

I’ve ordered a 2000 watt pure sine inverter.

With the 500 watts of solar, does that change all the other components that he recommends in the video? What else has to change? I don’t want to confuse myself, LoL.

Not sure which exact video you are referring to.
What kind of load and how much loads are you going to use with the system? You need to do power budget first and also how many days you plan to run the system without any recharging source then you can figure out what you need to get to build the system to fit your needs, then you can figure out what you need below.
1) What is the system Voltage do you want to use? 12V? 24V?
2) What type of batteries chemistires are you going get?
3) What is SCC (Solar Charger Controller) do you have in mind?
4) What type of inverter did you order? High Frequency type? Low frequency type for starting high inrush current load?
5) Plan for future expansion?
6) Etc.
I'm sure others will have added questions as well.

But I want to get two 250 watt panels on my camper van. Do I need to get a 50 amp or bigger charge controller? Or can I stick with the 40 amp that he shows in the video?

I’ve ordered a 2000 watt pure sine inverter.

With the 500 watts of solar, does that change all the other components that he recommends in the video? What else has to change? I don’t want to confuse myself, LoL.
Welcome to the forum.

500 watts panels into a 12V battery is about 40A so that size SCC is good and would not change anything.
50A is not needed unless you plan to add panels in the future.
50A x 12V is 600 watts.

You could parallel or series connect your two 250w panels.