diy solar

diy solar

Is 40A Fuse enough for SOK 24v (2 x 12v) 206Ah ??

Alberta Off-Grid

I'm new to solar and I live off-grid... I've chosen the following set-up :

2000Watt, 24v Off-Grid Solar Setup (with the exact components on Will's site)

I've purchased two SOK 12v 206Ah batteries. Do all the 40Amps fuse, charge controller, Inverter stay the same for 206Ah as opposed to the 100Ah on Will's set-up?

Also, I'm running my generator every second day (for laundry and bigger appliances) and I would love to top up the batteries when the generator is running. Would a simple 12 volt battery charger from Walmart or Canadian Tire work? What's the best and simplest battery charger for my two SOK Lithium Batteries.

Where do I connect the charger, can I connect directly to the battery terminals?

Thanks, this is all new to me...

Size the fuse for the loads. 2000 watt load at 24v is 83 amps, not taking into account inverter inefficiency or surge. So 83 is the bare minimum for the fuse just downstream of the battery.

No, a cheap charger isn't going to work for a LiFePO4 battery. Look at the RV AC-DC converters that have a LiFePO4-specific charge profile.

Thanks for the fast reply. Will uses a 50 amp circuit breaker downstream of the battery and his solar charge controller is 40 amp. His system uses 12 volt batteries with 100Ah, so I need to go higher than 83 amps for 200 Ah batteries?

I'm starting to understand things a little better. How many solar panels, or should I say, how many watts of solar should I consider for a 40 watt solar charge controller?

Thanks for the fast reply. Will uses a 50 amp circuit breaker downstream of the battery and his solar charge controller is 40 amp. His system uses 12 volt batteries with 100Ah, so I need to go higher than 83 amps for 200 Ah batteries?

You don't need a larger fuse on account of higher capacity 200 Ah battery vs. 100 Ah.
You may need a larger fuse if you draw more current.