diy solar

diy solar

Is this a good setup from Renogy?

pterrydactyl

The link below is to a “kit” that they are selling. I’m a complete novice and want to add this “kit” to my travel trailer. My watt useage audit indicates this is more than adequate for my drycamping use for 3-4 days. I would add either two 12 volt 100 amp batteries or one 200 amp Lifepo battery. What say you? (I am not affiliated with anyone or advertising for them.)

The link below is to a “kit” that they are selling. I’m a complete novice and want to add this “kit” to my travel trailer. My watt useage audit indicates this is more than adequate for my drycamping use for 3-4 days. I would add either two 12 volt 100 amp batteries or one 200 amp Lifepo battery. What say you? (I am not affiliated with anyone or advertising for them.)

Looks like a solid starter kit for a small rv and 200ah of batteries. Price is not groundbreaking, but it is good.

I'd say no. Yes, Renogy components will work, but you will pay more than if you purchased other components elsewhere. I built my cabin system from a Renogy "kit". Now that I know better, I could have created a better system for significantly less money.

Shop on Craigslist for panels. Go to Costco and pick up some of their golf-cart batteries. Get an Epever 50A charge controller.
2 250W panels, 110$
2 GC batteries, 200$
50A Epever, 250$
wiring, fuses, ect, 40$
600$ total

Before jumping on this, just realize what the kit won't include, like panel mounts, wiring., etc...

THese prices add up. I spent $50 on nuts, bolts and washers just for the panels. Also have to figure panel placement and whether 4 in series, 4 in parallel, or 2S2P.