diy solar

diy solar

Is using a Switch mode Power Supply as a Charger A bad idea?

That's very interesting. The noises really bother me ?

I connected a 400w 18v switching power supply to a 30a pwm SCC and it worked perfectly for 5 mins and then died.
That's interesting, the PWM SCC is based on switching max volts and current from the source on and off as quickly as possible that then achieves a so called ideal (average) evel to charge the battery? The major problem here is there are huge current spikes when the PWM duty is active, this brings the overall efficancy down compared to an mppt controller that has a very high frequency buck regulator modulating the V/I to match the battery. I must admit, iv never used PWM to charge a battery from an SMPS. I'm an elecronics engineer with over 40 years practical experience designing and building electronic systems. I've done many buck, boost regulator systems but I can only provide theory as to what the loads are are on an SMPS feeding a PWM SCC then feeding a LIFEPO4 pack, I'm guessing the SMPS can get stressed out ass opposed to a high frequency buck converter doing the job of precision V/I regulation? Hope this makes sense ?

Last edited:
That's very interesting. The noises really bother me ?

I connected a 400w 18v switching power supply to a 30a pwm SCC and it worked perfectly for 5 mins and then died.
Were you drawing 30A from the power supply?
Your 400W 18V can deliver about 22A. What kind of OV/OC protection does your power supply have?
It sounds like your power supply failed to protect itself.
1675452820346.png

More likely the PWM controller died, not the powersupply.

the powersupply was able to provide more power than the fets of the PWM could handle, frying it.

Using a powersupply as charger can if
- It has CC, constant current limiting
- It has backfeed protection

the powersupply was able to provide more power than the fets of the PWM could handle, frying it.