diy solar

diy solar

IT LIVES! 24v 200Ah 3000watt Solar Battery/UPS

Kodack

3000watt Growatt Solar Inverter 24v with 80A MPPT charger.
2x Amperetime 200Ah LFP batteries for 24v with 4800Wh of capacity
One huge wheeled storage organizer box.

This is my first time building anything like this. I'd never even used a hydraulic crimper or clamp meter before so everything was something new. I thoroughly thought out the build before I ordered any parts so I would have everything I needed ,and I actually had everything I needed, which was surprising.

I had hoped to put the 2 batteries side by side in the bottom of the storage bin but they are too wide so I unfortunately had to stack them. Because of this, I'm re-thinking my permanent design. I don't know where the BMS is on these batteries but I assume it's on the top, so I want the top clear. I may end up just mounting this to the wall and using a battery stand instead of making it portable.

For now though, I got everthing set up and I've tested everything but the battery capacity and PV charging. BTW I don't recommend upping the AC charge current to 60 amps, it will do it but I tripped the breaker in my office with my PC on and had no problems at 30 amps.

Speaking of charging, it's advertised as 80amp MPPT but the instructions say it can go up to 140 amp.

The big test was after charging the batteries a few hours, to see if it would run my 12000BTU window AC unit. It was using 6 amps without the compressor, just the fan blowing, the compressor kicked on and my clamp isn't fast enough to see inrush but it had no problems, and settled at 30amp draw at the battery side. Not too bad at all. The batteries are 200Ah but only have 100Ah BMS so I am glad I'm well under 100AMPS of pull with the AC. I should be able to run lower loads like my pc, some lights, refrigerator, for some time off 4800 watt hours.

gro 7.jpggro 6.jpggro 5.jpggro 4.jpg

That clean hex crimp
gro 3.jpg

First power on
gro 2.jpg