diy solar

diy solar

Jehu Garcia 7S2P battery holder issue, Batteries popping out, partiallsy.

JohnCBriggs

I'm just getting started, but I'm having a problem with the Jehu Garcia 7S2P battery holders.

I got the PCA versions that are sold as "advanced" on ebay which I think means it has the "improved" battery holders. They are labeled as Justin Kenny 2018.

My issue is that when I put the batteries in, some of them pop back out, partially, and the board stops working. If I push them in, other ones pop up. It seems unusable.

I'm using Samsung INR 18650-25R batteries if that matters.

Any help would be appreciated.

Attachments

• PXL_20210323_223536320.jpg
    PXL_20210323_223536320.jpg
    56.1 KB · Views: 18
  • PXL_20210323_221909472.jpg
    PXL_20210323_221909472.jpg
    50.4 KB · Views: 18
  • PXL_20210323_221958096.jpg
    PXL_20210323_221958096.jpg
    53.4 KB · Views: 18
I'd ask the vendor and see what they say. Possibly they're designed to stack, so each assembly holds the batteries on top down and needs a "top" piece, or mucking about with the clip holders? Be careful though, those clips need to make good contact otherwise they'll get hot.

I'd ask the vendor and see what they say. Possibly they're designed to stack, so each assembly holds the batteries on top down and needs a "top" piece, or mucking about with the clip holders? Be careful though, those clips need to make good contact otherwise they'll get hot.
Thanks for the advice.
The seller says that because my batteries are 18.3mm diameter, they are popping out. I'm not sure If I believe that.

The "single" holder works fine, but the "double" holder forces the batteries out.

Sounds like the battery holders were making them to the spec (The 18650 cell is 18 mm in diameter and 65 mm tall; hence, its name 18650). But in reality, the popular 18650s I sampled are all bigger:

Samsung 26J 18650 - 18.4
Tenergy 30005 ICR 18650 2600mAh - 18.3
PANASONIC NCR18650B 3400MAH - 18.6