diy solar

diy solar

Killed HP 6261B power supply - Can anyone have a look at my schematic?

Ssybert

Hi Everyone,

I have an older variable voltage / variable current HP power supply I was using to top balance some batteries. With the power supply off, I was removing the leads and dropped one to the chassis of my RV while the other was still attached. a 1200AH LiFePo4 pack drew current through the power supply and started arcing against the chassis. I quickly pulled the wire away from the ground but it was too late.

Now, when I turn on the power supply it goes in to a dead short immediately. The current is still controlled from the front panel and as I increase it, the power supply draws a larger AC load and reflects the current increase on the meter. The voltage however stays at zero.

I opened it up and tested final power transistors and believe they are OK. I'm not an electrical engineer and really don't know how to diagnose this. I did discover that by disconnecting the base of A4Q102, the power supply powered up without any output at all. Better than being in a dead-short state I suppose.

Can anyone with power supply knowledge have a look at the schematic on page 83 of this manual and maybe offer some direction? I can do a lot of things but I know when I'm out of my league. This is one of those times.

Thanks for any help anyone can offer!

Scott

Last edited:
I have one of those, great PS, worth trying to save.
I would be looking over the “short circuit protection” circuit.
W/ a bright light, look for burned, damaged or discolored components.
I have seen capacitors that shorted and expanded so as to bulge the metal case.
Also give it a smell test, when the RFI circuit in mine died, it smelled up the place.

here is a vintage HP forum that might have more help: