diy solar

diy solar

Lead Acid to LiFePO4 Swap

Schmalzy

I'm completely new to this, and my only knowledge comes from watching Will's YouTube Channel.

I have a small teardrop camper with a small 12v system. It currently has a lead-acid battery, and I'm looking to upgrade to a LiFePO4 12v battery.

I was just diagnosed with sleep apnea, and will need to get a CPAP machine... I know I should probably do an energy audit before I get a new battery, but my questions\concerns below are not specific to the battery capacity at this point, more about the concerns and feasibility of upgrading the battery to LiFePO4.

Current Setup:
Current loads:
Concerns\Questions:
  • Vibrations\Security: The base of the existing battery-box is screwed into the truck-bed-box, and the cover of the box is then strapped down to the base. Are there similar types of battery-boxes that exist for LiFePO4 batteries? Or am I better off getting rid of the box and securing some strap loops to the truck-bed-box and strapping it down that way?
  • Cold Temps: I do take the camper out in late-fall when temps can fall below freezing overnight. I'm going to make sure that I get a quality battery with low-temp sensor\cutoff. But I'm wondering if the "heated" type of battery would make a difference in this situation?
  • Water\Moisture: Although the truck-bed-box is supposed to be waterproof, I know its very possible that water could get in the box and onto the battery. This was making me consider the Plastic\Marine cased type battery.
  • Compatibility: As far as I can tell, both the NOCO charger and the Zamp controller have modes for Li batteries, so I don't believe this will be an issue.
  • Any other "Gotchas" I'm not thinking of?
Considering one of these two option, the choice would come down to choosing Marine\Plastic case vs Heated models (I wish there was an option with both features):
Thank you!

Attachments

• IMG_4945.JPEG
    IMG_4945.JPEG
    262.3 KB · Views: 9
  • IMG_4947.JPEG