diy solar

diy solar

LiFePO4 bulk Re-Charge voltage?

kampto

Im switching my 13yr old system over to LiFePO4 batterys. 2 Jita 12V 300ah in series to be exact. My charge controller is a Xantrex 150/60 MPPT and it has a setting for what voltage it will restart Bulk charge. My question is what should that voltage be? This is an off grid cabin which always has some amount of power draw but not much unless im there.

And here's the other settings I've researched and thinking about, please comment as Im new to LiFePO4:
Bulk = 29.2V (2x 14.6V)
Absorb = 28.8V (2x 14.4V). Instead of 29.2V because the min absorb time is 120min. I think 60min would be best.
Absorb time = 120min. This is the minimum the Xantrex CC can take
Float = Off
Equalize = Never
Restart Bulk charge = 26.4V (2x 13.2V) ??? This reasonable ???
Temp compensation = Off

Side question about float, is Off really the best? Why wouldn't I want to use the Solar wile sun is up to keep say above 90% SOC, ~26.6V

Last edited:
Since you have a small "parasitic" load on the batteries all the time and as you pointed out, "Why waste the sun when its available". I would set the Recharge Voltage fairly high so the charge controller is activated almost every day to keep the battery topped up. The key is to keep the charge voltages at a modest level so the cells are not getting "blasted" everyday but are being maintained without unnecessary cycling.
The following is based on individual cell voltage which is how I think about it. Just multiply these values by the appropriate number of cells, 4, 8, 16 for your situation.
After a full recharge LFP cells seem to settle in at about 3.3V when in stand-by with only a couple hundred mA being drawn. So set your "Recharge Voltage" on the charge controller menu at around this value.
Bulk Charge Voltage: 3.45 to 3.55V (Since its a 60A charger the max it can output is only 0.2C so that's good)