diy solar

diy solar

Lifepo4 - ideal charging parameters?

Vi s

Learning
Hello to everyone!

I am a total newbie to lifepo4 batteries so I need some clarification. I read many posts on this forum and beyond but I am still a bit confused and uncertain about the ideal charging parameters for my setup.

I have following solar setup:

23.6V 20.7W poly solar panel,
Mppt charge module SD30CRMA-18V (I've tested 92% efficiency with 1A max charge current and 96% below 1A. 1A enough and good since below 0.2cc of my 6Ah battery),
New 4 x 6Ah 32650 batteries in series,
Bms bw-4s-S30A with balancer,
Electric energy tester
IMG_20201207_121147.jpg Total cost about 28usd.

I use it to charge the battery during the day (no loads)in order to power led lights and charge 5V usb applications during the night time.

So my question is following, since i have to manually set the battery voltage (eg the voltage where it stops charging the battery I suppose!? )Screenshot_2020-12-04-14-09-59-985_com.lazada.android.jpg
on this simple charge controller module, which Volt parameter should I use in order to charge the battery to about 90% and then stop? I want to get maximum life cycles out of this battery pack. Would 14V be ideal or do I need to go higher?

Much appreciate if you could kindly also explain also your ideal charging voltage suggestion so that I learn something! :)

If yours is a 12v system and you want to get to about 90% SOC and do it with a simple charge controller using voltage termination only and not worrying about an absorption charge, then I'd suggest setting the termination voltage to somewhere right around 14.4V should get you close to that 90% state of charge point desired.

xLiFePO4-charging.gif.pagespeed.ic.ZYJX_3h8SJ.webp

Hopefully the graph explains the why I would pick 14.4V as that is roughly the point where the voltage at a 0.5C current gets a LiFePo4 battery to about a 90% SOC.
Here is a link for some additional reading on the topic.