diy solar

diy solar

LIFEPO4 Smoke and Fire Dept

jhooligan65

Thought this would be good to share. Ive been adding solar and building battery banks for the past year. I am a commercial electrician but the battery building is new territory. I has this 310AH 16s battery operating just fine with an Ant BMS. Luckily had it in a metal box and in the garage. Ive had no issues, solar charges during the day, battery at night. I cycle pretty low (I think) I stop charging at 54V and Start back up at 51.2V. The inverter was still operating while she was smoking. I dindt have a temp sensor on this specific cell, so it just cooked. I can not for sure identify what caused it. Im hoping to blame myself as I would like to use the other 15 cells. But concerned it was an internal cell failure. Has anyone experienced this?
20220915_155758.jpg20220915_155721.jpg

Attachments

• 20220915_155805.jpg
    20220915_155805.jpg
    188.9 KB · Views: 77
I did but it melted. It was just foam. Do you think the cell could short out on the metal case? I would think the metal case would need to be bonded to something to do that.

It seems like the most likely cause, lacking other ideas.

The metal cell cases are connected to one of the battery terminals. If you had a couple nicks in the blue shrink wrap, you can pass current and create heat.

It seems like the most likely cause, lacking other ideas.

The metal cell cases are connected to one of the battery terminals. If you had a couple nicks in the blue shrink wrap, you can pass current and create heat.
Im racking my brain. Was/are they bad cells? Was my terminal/Bus Bar not torqued correctly ? Could that make enogh heat to get it going? Why didnt my BMS shut it down? (It does when I dont want it to!) lol... Are the othe 15 cells safe to use?

How hot was it? I'd wonder about thermal damage to the immediately adjacent cells. But if all looks good I'd keep the others going.