diy solar

diy solar

LiFePO4 voltage question

Efendy

Hi all,

This is Andy from Australia. I am new to the forums. You have a great forum going here! Thanks to all contributors.

I have a question. Even though, Ive death with Sla based RV solar/dual battery systems, I am new to lifepo4. I am building a power tank that weighs a few kgs that I can take to places.

I bought a 12ah 12v lifepo4 battery with bms from a local internet vendor. The nominal voltage on the specs is 12.8. After it's fully charged the voltage reading I get is 12.85V. It discharges to 11.80 and disconnects. I am using a victron charger with modified lithium ion profile. I measured the capacity both charging and discharging and I get ~150w which is about 11.80ah based on 12.8v which is pretty close to claimed 12ah.

I read everywhere that voltage of lifepo4 batteries at 100% soc is 14+V and it's 12.8V when it's at 20%.

Is the battery I have faulty? I wanted to ask the experts before returning it as I really like the size of the battery.
Cheers
Andy

12.85 is only 3.21V per cell - that is pretty low. Now, voltage is not a good indicator of state of charge, but typically a fresh, fully charged cell should be around 3.4V per cell at least, or 13.6V for your pack. However, if you charge slow you might not get to that voltage, so it depends on your controller settings and charge current.

If you pull advertised capacity however, you're fine. I assume you pull 150Wh, not 150 Watts.

12.85 is only 3.21V per cell - that is pretty low. Now, voltage is not a good indicator of state of charge, but typically a fresh, fully charged cell should be around 3.4V per cell at least, or 13.6V for your pack. However, if you charge slow you might not get to that voltage, so it depends on your controller settings and charge current.

If you pull advertised capacity however, you're fine. I assume you pull 150Wh, not 150 Watts.
Thank you for the quick reply,