diy solar

diy solar

LiFePO4 won't charge over 3.3v per cell

KrisThompson

Hello all. New member, thanks for having me. I'm an FPV drone hobbyist and I'm in the process of making a 100aH battery to take out to the field when I spend hours flying. The battery will power the charger that charges my drone batteries so I can stay in the air.

I'm currently using an old car battery.

I purchased 4 Liitokala 3.2v 100aH cells off AliExpress a year ago and only started using them recently. I've wired them up as a 4 cell battery with a balance lead and am charging them off a SkyRC hobby charger at 100w charge. It should take over 12 hours to charge considering I have 1280 watt hours. I am using the LiFePO4 charge profile setting on the charger

Instead, the batteries get to 3.32 - 3.33v per cell after about 5 hours of charging, the charger says it's at "57%" charge and it just sits there apparently charging at 100w but nothing is happening. Even after hours, the cells are not going over 3.33v per cell.

Are my batteries no good? Or do I need a more advanced charger with a customizable LiFePO4 profile.

Regards

Kris

Attachments

• FB_IMG_1660547360284.jpg
    FB_IMG_1660547360284.jpg
    85 KB · Views: 20
  • FB_IMG_1660547367227.jpg
    FB_IMG_1660547367227.jpg
    83.1 KB · Views: 20
  • FB_IMG_1660547374845.jpg
    FB_IMG_1660547374845.jpg
    70.3 KB · Views: 20
If the cells you bought were used ones being passed off as new, they may have been damaged by previous overcharging to the point where their self discharge is excessive and as the voltage rises, the rate of self discharge can match the charge rate so they never reach the end of the charge.

Observe how quickly and how far the cell voltages drop once taken off the charger. Healthy cells should maintain their voltage quite well.

Buying anything off Aliexpress and then waiting a year before testing it is a dangerous game, as they only give 15 days to open disputes if I recall correctly.