diy solar

diy solar

LiitoKala/Varicore 90Ah Cell Test

EMichael

I, like a few other posters recently (here,here, and here), saw these 90Ah LiitoKala cells on AliExpress for about $50 each and decided to take the plunge! My cells have arrived, and I figured I would post about my first impressions. I am by no means an expert in these things, so I'm interested in any helpful tips. I ordered 8 cells for a 24V / 2.2kWh system. All tests and charging was performed with an OverKill solar 8S BMS. Total cost with BMS was ~$500.

In the box:
  • Cells came packaged individually, wrapped in foam several times, in their own boxes. No damage, although cell bottoms were unprotected by the foam I suppose.
  • 8 cells came with 8 bus bars, sufficient for 8s configuration but insufficient for parallel connection (for cell balancing).
  • Bus bars are tinned copper, but pretty thin. Probably insufficient for high amperage situations as is, might want to double up.
  • Screws/washers included for bus bars are fine, threads look fine, everything goes together smooth.
  • All batteries arrived at 3.303 volts, within couple millivolts. At a guess, 50% SOC.
I got a 24V LIFEPO4 charger from FuelZero, I first bulk charged the batteries to get them close to full charge. I then top-balanced them with a benchtop power supply set to 3.65 volts. Both charging and top balancing went smoothly. I have this battery capacity tester:

I am almost done with the capacity test. They've, at this time, output 83Ah and are still at 25.1V. It seems the rated capacity is correct, but I will update when the test is over. I have attached photos. Let me know if there is anything else you'd be interested in testing.

Attachments

• IMG_20200831_182455_8.jpg
    IMG_20200831_182455_8.jpg
    83.4 KB · Views: 96
  • IMG_20200904_105113_9.jpg
    IMG_20200904_105113_9.jpg
    54.7 KB · Views: 92
  • IMG_20200904_110435_0.jpg
    IMG_20200904_110435_0.jpg
    74 KB · Views: 95
  • IMG_20200904_154531_3.jpg