diy solar

diy solar

Long time listener, first time caller from Dateland, AZ

sarossell

Hello everyone!

I've been banging my head against the solar puzzle wall for the past eight years. I managed to successfully live off-grid in a box truck on the streets of San Diego on 1100 watts of mixed panel sizes connected incorrectly for only 900 watts max output (Well, I know that now). Still, I was able to run a microwave oven, refrigerator/freezer, Keurig coffee maker (with a massive 80 farad capacitor), XBox 360, 32" TV, lights, laptop and iDevices.

So, hey, I figured I could take on the deep desert, right? Well... I may have bitten off more than I can chew. We'll see what the 120° Summer heat does to me out here.

I decided to build a whole new power system. I got 30 used 270 watt panels and then as I was about to order a new solar charge controller, I learned something basic I should have learned 8 years ago; you can have all the panels in the world, but your 60 amp charger is going to give you about 800 watts max. That's it. (Yes, I'm aware of the early and late light concentration effect of having a larger array, but stick with me here.)

So I decided to look at the Growatt 3000TL LVM-ES. 4000 watts max in, 3000 watts out of the inverter, battery optional, scalable and expandable. All for just $712?! Crazy, right?

Then I read the specs and hit another wall in my understanding. It says it can handle from 150 to 250 VDC, but only 18 amps from the solar panels. Surely that's a typo, right? But page 44 of the manual says "Max. PV Input Current” 18 Amps. So, okay 4000 / 18 amps = 222 volts; within the stated maximum input voltage. But how the heck do I combine 270 watt panels with a 38.5 volt in-circuit voltage at 7.6 amps each? The best I can figure is six parallel groups of two panels in series reaching 231 volts at 15.2 amps for a total of 3,511 watts. I can’t parallel more than two panels. That would exceed the 18 amp limit.