diy solar

diy solar

Looking for some Advice and Insight - LiFePo4 System

JacquesC

Gooday :)

I have recently ordered these: https://www.aliexpress.com/item/100...092dd5a7d55a5e741-1623357609562-09154-_9fYkO3 I've ordered 8 and the plan is to set them up in a 24v system (unless anyone can give me a good reason that isn't advisable)
Really I'm looking for recommendations on suitable and affordable inverter and charger or inverter/charger, I have some experience with Victron and know they are good bits of kit, but I'm wondering if anyone has any other recommendations or experience with these batteries. Price is an important factor but I want to make the system last as long as I can, so quality is also important.

Also I have very little experience with LiFePo4, so any advice is appreciated :) Will I need a seperate BMS? Or is that dependant on the Inverter/Charger I decide on?

TIA

J

Will I need a seperate BMS?

Yes. You also want to do a top balance on these cells once you have them - so you will need a power supply. Parallel the cells, set the power supply to 3.6V, then hook it up and be patient. Search the forum!

What is your load going to be? It's hard to suggest an inverter without knowing your power requirements.

Thank you :)
I have been reading that I will need to do that, I will check some resources and make sure I know what I'm doing there.
Regarding loads, it will be nothing too major tbh, I will probably only use about 1000W at any one time, but I would rather have a slightly larger inverter, 2000/3000W incase of emergencies or expansion, I'm in southern Spain

Please download this resource, many of your questions are answered in this PDF.

We cannot suggest any Inverter/Charger without knowing what Country and what voltage you want. No point in suggesting a European Model if you are in the USA and vice a versa.

Every Battery Pack (assembled collection of cells) has to have a BMS and a Fuse.