diy solar

diy solar

Looking to top balance my new Eve 304ah cells.

imbuere

Newbie here and just looking for some confirmation on my plan and understanding. I recently bought 5 (4 in the pack and one as a backup) Eve lifepo4 304 ah cells from the recommended seller here.

I have a cheap bench power supply (one Will recommended) that only puts out 30v/10a. Right now my cells are at 3.29v… so very low and will take forever to charge with this psu with all the cells in parallel.

So, I’m thinking about hooking it up in series and charging to 17.9v (3.58*5) (again, might seem odd because I’m using 5 batteries… the final battery will be 4 cells of course). Once that’s complete, I’ll take off the bus bars and use short wires to wire all the cells in parallel. I’ll use wires to put it into parallel as I dont want to take the pack out of compression as it approaches full capacity. Then I’ll finish the top balance at 3.65v.

Once it gets to 3.65 I’ll let it sit for a few days, put the bus bars back in in series and can move to a capacity test.

I’m his sound like the right way to approach this? Any suggestions?

I should be able to use 10awg for the parallel wires, right?

To do the first 17.9v charge I’ll simply be going up my bench power supply to the #1 cell positive and the power negative to the #5 cell negative. Right? (Picture of the pack ready for that series charge)image.jpg

Newbie here and just looking for some confirmation on my plan and understanding. I recently bought 5 (4 in the pack and one as a backup) Eve lifepo4 304 ah cells from the recommended seller here.

I have a cheap bench power supply (one Will recommended) that only puts out 30v/10a. Right now my cells are at 3.29v… so very low and will take forever to charge with this psu with all the cells in parallel.