diy solar

diy solar

LV2424 x2 Split Phase Operation - Blowing Breaker

EddieB

Hello,

I have been running a single LV2424 for about 3 months and this week added a second unit. I would like to run them in parallel to power to an AC distribution panel in a single phase. They are both set to PAL, with one as slave and one master. Each is connected to 2.2 kilowatts of solar panels.

I have wired 2 20 amp 120 volt AC circuits for these two units as grid backup for when solar and battery are insufficient.

Everything appears okay except the first unit is now unable to draw from my AC as a backup as it previously had. Whenever i connect the AC input to the first unit it blows the 20 amp breaker immediately. This unit had previously been running solar with AC backup with no problems. The new unit, unit 2 can be plugged into either AC circuit and will draw power normally as needed.

Any idea what is going on here?

Last edited:
Upon further inspection I have found that the P1 unit is actually read 100 volts on the AC input even though the unit is set to GFD for feed to grid disabled...

Last edited:
"I would like to run them in parallel to power to an AC distribution panel in a single phase."

Are their outputs presently connected together? If so, Isolate them and try again. Check voltage between the outputs you want to connect. Make sure there is zero volts not 240V between them.

Another test, isolate the new unit and see if original one still works as before.

Don't know about yours; my monitor the input and make sure they are correct voltage and in phase before connecting.

"I would like to run them in parallel to power to an AC distribution panel in a single phase."

Are their outputs presently connected together? If so, Isolate them and try again. Check voltage between the outputs you want to connect. Make sure there is zero volts not 240V between them.

Another test, isolate the new unit and see if original one still works as before.