diy solar

diy solar

Making a parts list for new 24V system with used Santan panels

jkb458

I should be receiving my 250W used Santan panels this week. I haven’t ordered anything else yet. I initially planned to use a LV2424 all-in-one, but they keep going out of stock…and I can see some benefits of just building a 24V system.

I’ll list the main parts I’m planning to use, based on Will’s 24V blueprint. If anyone sees any issues, or has other suggestions, I welcome the input! I’ve never done anything solar before, but my husband and I built our own house. Surely, we can do this.

(12) 250W Santan T-Series used panels. Wired 3S4P.

(2) Epever Tracer BN 40A with MT50

Giandel 24V 3000W Inverter

(2) Ampere Time 24V 100 Ah batteries

I think I’ll need 12 pairs of the MC4 connectors. After wiring in 3S4P, should I tie them together with pigtail connectors before going to the SCC, or should I be using a combiner box? I have read A LOT on this forum, but I want to make sure I’m ordering what I need.

Thanks!!

(12) 250W Santan T-Series used panels. Wired 3S4P.
Your SCC must allow max input voltage a bit over 3x the panel Voc to allow for temperature induced voltage increase.

12 x 250W = 3000W
3000W / 25.6V = 117A available for charging. A single BN 40A will leave about 80A on the table.

You could split your array into 3 parts. 4 panels east-isn (1000W / 25.6V = 39A), parallel with 4 panels south (39A) and parallel with 4 panels west (39A).

This will maximize your limited 40A charging capability. Your charging will start early with your east array and finish late with your west array.

If you want all your panels (needlessly) to face the same direction, you should get close to 120A of SCC charging capacity.

The panels should already have an MC4 connector on each wire so you should not need 12 pairs of MC4 connectors.